Fiddler of Oriel Competition

It is with the greatest pleasure that in April 2023, after a lapse of 11 years that we welcome back Féile Oriel and the prestigious Fiddler of Oriel Competition. This is the third revival of the festival. Indeed it was Elizabeth McGuinness (of Mad About Monaghan fame) along with Colm Hearn, who brought back the first revival in 1995. The original Feile Oriel in 1969 was the original fiddle competiton just ahead of the Fidder of Dooney, Sligo. That first revival weekend in May 1995 saw Monaghan Town buzzing with over 20 simultaneous on the go over the 3 days. Galway's finest Liz Kane was the adult recipient of Feile Oriel 1995. The festival continued for the next 2 years there after having a hiatus of 12 years. 


Then in 2009, the celebrated uillenn piper Tiarnan Dinkin along with Elizabeth's brother Charlie took up the reigns once more and 4 fantastic annual feile's weere held until 2012. 

2023 will see re-invigored, much anticapated return of the Fiddler of Oriel and Féile Oriel. It is an absolute honour and delight to be affiliated to the Fiddler of London 2023 which will take place in London on the 15th of April 2023. Eilish Byrne and her team have made the FOL an international success story and have  established an event with a truly global reach. 

Over the course of the festival's history many of Irelands finest fiddlers descended on Monaghan town in hope of attaining the coveted "Fiddler of Oriel" All of the winners and many other competitors each brought with them a deep commitment to their art and to the Irish music tradition

Fiddler of Oriel 2023 will have a junior (u18) and senior competition. The finals of which will be hoested on Sunday April the 30th in the Four Seasons Hotel Monaghan. 

Please click on the link to see the Entry Requirements, Terms and Conditions of Fiddler of Oriel 2023


Kathleen Burke (Collins)


Austin Dawe

hqdefault (1).jpg

Deidre Moynahin


Niall Murphy


Liz Kane

Some Past Winners

1969 - Kathleen Burke, Loughrea
1970 - Tommy Peoples, Donegal
1971 - Antóin Mac Gabhann, Cavan
1972 - Antóin Mac Gabhann. Cavan
1973 - Jimmy Comac, Donaghmore
1974 - Joe Ryan, Clare
1975 - Gerry O Connor, Dundalk
1976 - Jim McKillop, Antrim
1977 - Martin Byrnes, Galway
1978 - Eddie Kelly, Galway
1979 - Gerry O Connor, Dundalk
1980 - Gerry O'Connor, Dundalk
1981 - Tony Linnane, Clare
1982 - Gerry O' Connor, Dundalk
1983 - Austin Dawe, Dundalk
1995 - Liz Kane, Galway
1996 - Liz Kane, Galway
1997 - Deirdre Moynihan, Cork
2009 - David Doocey, Mayo
2010 - Niall Murphy, Armagh
2011 - Niall Murphy, Armagh


Jim McKillop


Gerry O'Connor


Martin Byrnes


Tommy Peoples


Tony Linnane


Antoin Mac Gabhann


David Doocey